News & Events


Joint IAF-ISO Communique

Migration to ISO 14001:2004 and
end of accredited certification to ISO 14001:1996
The International Accreditation Forum (IAF), in consultation with the International
Organization for Standardization (ISO), have set the expiry date for all 60,000 certificates to
ISO 14001:1996 at 15 May 2006.
After this date the only valid accredited certificates for environmental management systems
will be those issued against the requirements of the new ISO 14001:2004 edition of the
In setting this transition period of 18 months from the publication date of the new edition of
ISO 14001, IAF and ISO have taken into account the following matters:
*  six months from the date of publication, for national standards bodies to nationally adopt
the new edition of ISO 14001:2004 and prepare translated versions of the new standard
in their national language(s); and a
*  further 12 months to give time for certification bodies to assess conformity with the
requirements of the revised standard during the regular surveillance cycle
Organizations currently holding certificates to the ISO 14001:1996 standard should review
the new edition of the 14001 standard and make any necessary adjustments to ensure their
certificates are renewed before the expiry date.
IAF Chairman, Dr. Thomas Facklam, notes "this 18 month transition period is necessary to
ensure the timely response from the accredited certification market for ISO 14001 to assess
the requirements in the new standard, and to make adjustments as necessary to existing
environmental management system procedures within companies".
The ISO Secretary General states "as an important contribution to the environment, ISO
supports the establishment of a 18 month transition period, and encourages the users of ISO
14001 to conform to the requirements of the new standard as soon as the new standard is
released".  He notes that the changes in the new standard are not substantial, but have been
necessary to ensure greater alignment between ISO 14001 and the requirements now
enshrined in ISO 9001:2000, Quality management systems - Requirements.
The IAF Transition Plan for Accredited EMS Certification from ISO 14001:1996 to ISO
14001:2004, has been published as IAF GD 4:2004 and is available free from the
Publications page, Guidance Documents on the IAF Website at .  ISO
14001:2004, Environmental management systems – Specification with guidance for use,
costs 97 Swiss francs.  Both ISO 14001 and ISO 9001 are available from ISO national
member institutes (see the  complete list with contact details) and from ISO Central
Secretariat (Web store and